Award Winners, Book Lists

Coretta Scott King Award: Young Adult Winners & Honors Past and Present

“The Coretta Scott King Book Awards annually recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience. ” (More about the award)

2021 Honors

King and the Dragon Flies by Kacen Callender

Lifting as We Climb by Evette Dionne

All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D Taylor

2020 Honors

Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky by Kwame Mbalia

The Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus

Look Both Ways by Jason Reynolds

2019 Winner

A Few Red Drops by Claire Hartfield

2018 Winner

Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson

2018 Honors

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (review)

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds (review)

2017 Winner

March: Book Three by Jon Lewis

2016 Honors

The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds

2015 Honors

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

How it Went Down by Kekla Magoon

2014 Honors

Darius and Twig by Walter Dean Myers

March: Book One by Jon Lewis

2011 Honors

Yummy: the Last Days of a Southside Shorty by G. Neri

Lockdown by Walter Dean Myers

Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes

Leave a Reply