Award Winners, Book Lists

2021 Book Awards

The American Library Association has announced this year’s Youth Media Award Winners and honor books. Included are:

Michael L. Printz Award (excellence in literature for Young Adults)

Winner: Everything Sad is Untrue by Daniel Nayeri


We Are Not Free by Traci Chee

Apple (Skin to the Core) by Eric Gansworth

Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh

Dragon Hoops by Gene Luen Yang

Coretta Scott King Award (recognizing African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults)


King and the Dragon Flies by Kacen Callender

Lifting as We Climb by Evette Dionne

All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D Taylor

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award

Winner: Legedborn by Tracy Deonn

Newbery Honor

Fighting Words by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature (The award promotes Asian/Pacific American culture and heritage and is awarded based on literary and artistic merit.)

Winner: This Light Between Us by Andrew Fukuda

Honor: Displacement by Kiku Hughes

Schneider Family Book Award ( books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience)

Winner: This is My Brain in Love by I.W. Gregorio

Pura Belpré Book Award—for a Latinx author whose work best portrays the Latinx cultural experience in a work of literature for youth.

Winner: Furia by Yamile Saied Mendez


Never Look Back by Lilliam Rivera

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez

Stonewall Book Award (English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience)


Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson

Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram

Sydney Taylor Book Award (For outstanding books for kids and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience.)


Dancing at the Pity Party by Tyler Feder

Turtle Boy by M. Evan Wolkenstein

Honors: They Went Left by Monica Hesse

William C Morris Award (For a debut book published by a first time author.)

Winner: If These Wings Could Fly by Kyrie McCauley


Black Girl Unlimited by Echo Brown

Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibanez

It Sounded Better in My Head by Nina Kenwood

The Black Kids by Christina Hammons Reed

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction

Winner: The Rise and Fall of Charles Lindbergh by Candace Fleming


How We Got to the Moon by John Rocco

You Call This Democracy? by Elizabeth Rusch

The Cat I Never Named by Amra Sabic-El-Rayess

All Thirteen by Christina Soonronvat

Leave a Reply