Book Display, Book to Movie, Events, Fiction, Graphic Novel, Historical Fiction, Romance, Sci Fi/Fantasy, Thriller

Webtoon (Webcomic Website) Suggestions and Read-a-likes pt 1: Adaptations

With the increased popularity of webcomics, more websites that collect original works have appeared. Of course, there will always be the sites where creators start themselves and upload there, sometimes they’ll also share their works on webcomic sites.

Some webcomic sites that I’ve found are Webtoon, Tapas, Bored Panda, Reddit, tumblr, Comic Rocket, and The Duck Webcomics; while I’ve only used Webtoon and Tapas to read, I’m unsure how easy it is to use and find comics to read.

While most sites will allow the public to read comics for free, some sites require the purchase and usage of Coins or Passes to continue reading series past a certain point (I’m looking at you Tapas).

For this post, I’ll be using only Webtoon for suggestions and read-a-likes for them.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Book/Anime Adaptations

Did you expect there to be comic versions of a YA book or turned into an Anime?
Check out the comics and see what was made and how accurate they are.

The Wrath & The Dawn – Renee Ahdieh [Fantasy]
Khalid, the Caliph, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. However, Shahrzad has a clever plan – not only to stay alive – but to end the murderous King’s reign of terror once and for all.
Want to read the book it was based on?
The Wrath & The Dawn

_____________________________________________________________

The Weight Of Our Sky – Hanna Alkaf [Historical Fiction]
A music loving teen with OCD does everything she can to find her way back to her mother during the historic race riots in 1969 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Want to read the book it was based on?
The Weight Of Our Sky

_____________________________________________________________

American Road Trip – Patrick Flores-Scott [Drama]
Ever since his brother left to serve in Iraq, Teodoro “T” Avila’s life has been in the pits, until he runs into the girl of his dreams and realizes there might be more to life than video games. But when Manny returns home an utterly different person, it’s a bombshell for the Avilas that leaves T shell-shocked. Determined to impress Wendy and in denial of his brother’s condition, T doubles down on his studies, only to be hoodwinked into a road trip by Xochitl. With nothing but the road ahead of them, how much will T and Xo need to sacrifice to help save Manny from himself before it’s too late?
Want to read the book it was based on?
American Road Trip

_____________________________________________________________

Sweet Home – Carnby Kim [Thriller]
After an unexpected family tragedy, a reclusive high school student is forced to leave his home — only to face something much scarier: a reality where monsters are trying to wipe out humanity. Now he must fight alongside a handful of reluctant heroes to try and save the world before it’s too late.
Want to watch the Netflix adaptation?
Sweet Home

_____________________________________________________________

The Fever King – Victoria Lee [Superhero]
The sole survivor of a magical plague, Noam Álvaro is accepted into an academy where he will be expected to defend Carolinia, the nation that persecuted his family. Noam decides to use everything he learns to destroy Carolinia . . . that is until he becomes distracted by a mysterious and powerful classmate who warns him that nothing is as it seems.
Unfortunately, we don’t own the book (physical or electronic) it was based on, however if you’re interested, we can request it from another library.

_____________________________________________________________

Rot & Ruin – Jonathan Maberry Taylor Grant (artist) [Horror]
Benny Imura and his friends must navigate a post-apocalyptic zombie-infected America in which teenagers are forced to find labor or face starvation. When Benny grudgingly joins his annoying older brother Tom as an apprentice zombie hunter, he soon discovers that almost everything he believed about his sheltered life is wrong–and zombies aren’t the greatest thing to fear in the Rot & Ruin.
Want to read the book it was based on?
Rot & Ruin

_____________________________________________________________

Space Boy – Stephen McCranie [Sci-Fi]
A girl who belongs in a different time. A boy possessed by an emptiness as deep as space. A story about an alien artifact, a mysterious murder, and a love that crosses light years.
Want to read the physical book that collects episodes 1-16?
Stephen McCranie’s Space Boy vol 1

_____________________________________________________________

Heartstopper – Alice Oseman [Romance]
Charlie, a highly-strung, openly gay over-thinker, and Nick, a cheerful, soft-hearted rugby player, meet at a British all-boys grammar school. Friendship blooms quickly, but could there be something more…?
Want to read the physical book?
Heartstopper vol 1
Want even more Heartstopper goodness?
Heartstopper is being turned into a Live-Action Netflix series sometime in 2022.
Source

_____________________________________________________________

The God of High School – Yongje Park [Action]
Mori Jin is a high school student and Taekwondo specialist who enters “The God of High School,” a fighting tournament that promises the winner anything they want. What began as a competition to seek out the best high school fighter soon reveals itself to be part of a much greater plot that goes beyond Mori’s wildest imagination. What will he give to become a true god?
Want to watch the anime?
The God of High School

_____________________________________________________________

Not Even Bones – Rebecca Schaeffer [Thriller]
Nita doesn’t hunt supernatural beings and sell their body parts on the black market – her mother does that. Nita only dissects the magical bodies for her mother. However, Nita’s about to get a real taste of the family business and there is no turning back. Now, Nita must decide whether she is willing to become a monster…
Want to read the book it was based on?
Not Even Bones

_____________________________________________________________

Tower of God – SIU [Fantasy]
What do you desire? Money and wealth? Honor and pride? Authority and power? Revenge? Or something that transcends them all? Whatever you desire—it’s here.
Want to watch the anime?
Tower of God

_____________________________________________________________

Lore Olympus – Rachel Smythe
While the physical book isn’t out yet (release Oct 5, 2021), the series will also be getting a Netflix adaptation at some point.
Source book Source Netflix

_____________________________________________________________

Noblesse – Jeho Son [Action]
Rai wakes up from an 820-year-long sleep and starts his new life as a student in a high school founded by his loyal servant, Frankenstein. But his peaceful days with other human students are soon interrupted by mysterious attackers known as the “Unions.”
Want to watch the anime?
Noblesse

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply